7 EP Towns Nominated for Ag Town of the Year Award

ag town

7 Eyre Peninsula towns have been nominated for the 2019 Ag town of the year Award including Cummins, Cleve, Kimba, Cowell, Wudinna, Minnipa and Port Lincoln. 

The towns were nominated for the inaugural South Australian Ag Town of the Year Award who were among 43 other nominees.

Nominations were focused on what the towns have contributed over the last 12 months and how the town have dealt with challenges they have faced.

Cummins saw a nomination for its role in providing a service centre for dryland cropping and livestock production

Cowell was nominated for its response to drought conditions and also the impact the POMS had on oysters in the region.

Kimba was nominated for their efforts in reversing their population decline in recent years and supporting agricultural innovation throughout the district.

Cleve was nominated for its strong focus on promoting and educating young people in the agricultural industry.

Port Lincoln was nominated for being a leader in research and sustainability for the fishing industry and also being a central hub for agriculture.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone says with 7 nominations for the award it goes to show how proud the EP is of their towns and are all deserving nominees.

“It’s a really good sign that the Eyre Peninsula people are proud of their towns and being part of the Ag space and all of those towns are worthy contenders to be named on Monday as the finalists, so Monday will be the big day.” Said Whetstone.

The minister wishes the towns the best of luck in getting into the to finalists.

On Monday 5 finalists will be announced for the Ag town of the year awards.






Image credit: