Minister’s AgTech Advisory Group Appointed

dr leanna read

Nine South Australian business, industry and academic leaders have been appointed to the new Minister’s AgTech Advisory Group. 

The new advisory group aims to provide a co-ordinated and long-term approach to the development and uptake of technology in agriculture in South Australia.

The group was selected from almost 70 nominations and will be led by independent chair, Dr Leanna Read, South Australia’s former Chief Scientist who is a renowned biotechnology expert.

The membership of the advisory group is: Andrew Grant, Oli Madgett, Karen Ross, Dougal McOmish, Tom Rayner, Professor Andrew Lowe, Penny Schulz and SA Chief Entrepreneur Jim Whalley.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said members of the advisory group bring considerable experience and expertise across the AgTech and primary industries sector.

Minister Whetstone said “Each member appointed to the AgTech Advisory Group is committed to making our agricultural industries more productive, sustainable and profitable through adoption of technologies and on-farm innovation,”